This is the "Home" page of the "Eisenhower Memorabilia and Sources in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Eisenhower Memorabilia and Sources in Special Collections   Tags: american_history, eisenhower  

Guide featuring sources and memorabilia concerning former US President, Dwight D. Eisenhower.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2012 URL: http://gettysburg.v1.libguides.com/sc_eisenhower Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Stadium Dedication

 

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

 

GettDigital

Eisenhower Collection
A digital collection of letters of Mamie and Dwight D. Eisenhower.

GettDigital Collections

 

Eisenhower in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections contains some materials related to Dwight D. Eisenhower. A researcher might want to investigate the following:

Complete Guide to the Dwight David Eisenhower Material in Special Collections/Musselman Library, Gettysburg College

Dillon Anderson papers.  Collection of correspondence, speeches and documents, interviews, and newspaper articles for research on the Eisenhower Administration, National Security Policy under his administration, and the National Security Council. MS-088

Eisenhower Appointment Books. Appointment records of 1311 pages documenting Eisenhower's meetings and telephone conversations with numerous individuals from April 1961 to October 1967 during which he occupied an office on the campus of Gettysburg College.  MS-109

Eisenhower Society papers. The collection contains the Eisenhower Society correspondence, administrative and program materials covering the period 1986-1999, including the Society's increased activity and involvement in connection with the October, 1990 centennial celebration of Eisenhower's birth. MS-111

Eisenhower, Dwight D. Sheet music entitled "A March to Eisenhower," by H.D. Hirsh and J.M. Frank-3pp. VFM-205 (oversize)

Eisenhower, Dwight D.  Draft of statement by President Eisenhower regarding the rejected nomination of Lewis Strauss as Secretary of Commerce in 1959 and a draft of a note to be sent to those Senators who supported the nomination.  Amended drafts of Eisenhower's letters are rare since he specifically forbade his staffers from saving his drafts in order to prevent any attempts by others to interpret his intent. The collection also contains some explanatory material about the event. AN 2pp. VFM-388

Eisenhower, Mamie. Collection of letters from Mamie Eisenhower to to her friends, Dr. J. Holt McCracken and his wife Vivien of California from 1961-1979.  MS-071

Eisenhower, Mamie. Letter from Mrs. Eisenhower to Charles and Elizabeth Wolf thanking them for a gift and relating her reunion with her family in Washington including grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Certificate of Authenticity included. TLS-1p. VFM-311

Eisenhower, Mamie. Collection of six letters, printed ephemera and signed photograph from Mamie Eisenhower, 1950-1978; Two letters to Miss Hildegarde, 14 December 1966 and 16 December 1971 (with printed ephemera); Letter to Mrs. Robert Guggenheim, 4 November 1950; New Year’s card to Rev. and Mrs. Carol, 1978; Letter and printed card to Mr. John A. Logan, 8 June 1960; Printed card to Mrs. Anita Clark, n.d.; Photograph signed and dedicated to Mrs. Gilford Mayes, n.d. VFM-341

Eisenhower-Kennedy Photograph.  Photograph of Eisenhower and Kennedy shortly after Kennedy's election in 1960.  The photograph is 5x7 mounted on cardboard with Eisenhower signature on the mount. PS. VFM-387

Eisenhower-Nevins Christmas Cards, etc. Includes several Christmas cards from the 1960s and 1970s, two guides to Culzean Castle in Scotland (no date), and a program for the St. Joseph College Sesquicentennial Academic Convocation, 1959. VFM-242

Eisenhower-White letters. Twenty four letters from Dwight D. and Mamie Eisenhower to Col. and Mrs. Sam White during the years, 1955-1974, primarily containing expressions of thanks for correspondence and gifts from the Whites, as well as news about the Eisenhower family and Dwight D. Eisenhower's health. MS-098

Musselman Stadium Dedication. Newspaper articles, press releases, and articles regarding the stadium. Also includes notes, correspondence, and plans by Gettysburg College officials, as well as two tickets for a Sept. 25, 1965 Bucknell V. Gettysburg football game. VFM-247

Niiro, Yukiko-Mamie Eisenhower and Mrs. Dick Thornburgh.  Letters to Yukiko Niiro, instructor at Gettysburg College, from Mamie Eisenhower, 8 February 1978 ALS 1p. and from Mrs. Dick Thornburgh, 21 February 1980 TLS 1 p. VFM-385

Scheible, Karen to President Janet Morgan Riggs.  Letter accompanying gift of book Going Home to Glory: a Memoir of Life with Dwight D. Eisenhower, 1961-1969. by David Eisenhower (See MUSCAT E836 .E383 2010)  AN 1p. VFM-381

Weiser, Fred. Class of 1957. Letter written to Prof. Michael Birkner describes various details about the Eisenhowers in Gettysburg and Mr. Weiser's experience escorting the Eisenhowers to their seats in Christ Chapel for the liturgy during Mother's Day weekend in Spring 1956. CS, ALS-2pp. VFM-305

Browse Subject Vertical Files

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Special Collections
Contact Info
(717) 337-7002 / (717) 337-7046
Send Email
 

Questions?

 

Ask an Archivist


Special Collections

Musselman Library

Fourth Floor

Gettysburg College Box 420

Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-331-7015

Reading Room Hours:

When Classes are in session

M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer Hours

By appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip