This is the "Home" page of the "Local History Sources in Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Local History Sources in Special Collections   Tags: adams_county, gettysburg, history, local_history  

A guide to the Local History sources found in Special Collections.
Last Updated: Oct 19, 2012 URL: http://gettysburg.v1.libguides.com/sc_localhistory Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Search

Search Special Collections and College Archives

 

 

(Refresh your browser if you don't see the Search Box)

 

GettDigital

The Gettysburg Postcard Collection presents vintage postcards depicting views of the Gettysburg College and Gettysburg Seminary campuses as well as images of the town and Battlefield.

Historic Gettysburg College
A digital archive featuring materials of intellectual and cultural significance to the Gettysburg College Community: Historic Photographs, Manuscripts, Artifacts & Memorabilia and Publications.

Hidden in Plain Sight
A collection of student papers and images of objects "hidden in plain sight" around the Gettysburg College campus.

Gettysburg Sanborn Maps
A collection of the the Sanborn Fire Insurance Map of Gettysburg in 1924. The map is divided into 17 numbered sheets. The collection is missing map sheet 14.

GettDigital Collections

 

Local History in Special Collections: Suggested Materials

Special Collections maintains a variety of materials a researcher in Local History might want to investigate:

Manuscript Collections pertaining to Local History

Browse Subject Vertical Files

The Oral History Collection includes interviews pertaining to Local History:

  • Adams County during World War II
  • Lincoln Highway (U.S. Route 30)

Consult an archivist for assistance with these items.

 

Locating Items

Published Materials:

Check MUSCAT.

  • Special Collections stacks are closed. To acquire an item, make a request at the reference desk in the Special Collections Reading Room.
  • Some materials may be found in the main stacks and can circulate.

Non-published Materials:

Include photographs, maps, ephemera, and manuscripts housed in Special Collections.

These items do not circulate and are available only in Special Collections.

Consult an archivist for assistance with non-published materials.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Special Collections
Contact Info
(717) 337-7002 / (717) 337-7046
Send Email
 

Questions?

 

Ask an Archivist


Special Collections

Musselman Library

Fourth Floor

Gettysburg College Box 420

Gettysburg, PA 17325

717-331-7015

Reading Room Hours:

When Classes are in session

M, Th, F : 1 - 5 PM
T, W : 1 - 5  and 6 - 9 PM

Summer Hours

By appointment only

 Special Collections Rules of Use

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip